What are the Tech Trailblazers Awards?

The Tech Trailblazers are an exciting awards program.

It’s global – Entries are welcomed from around the world, from Hawaii to Istanbul, from Finland to Australia. Innovation lives everywhere, and we’d like to hear about and reward the finest.

It’s focused on enterprise technology startups only. We are focusing on: AI, big data, blockchain, cloud, infosecurity, high performance computing, mobile, networking, storage, and virtualization.

In addition, all entrants are invited to submit their senior trailblazers into the Female & Male Tech Trailblazers of the year awards.

Younger, pre-VC startups are also encouraged to enter as Firestarters if they are 2 years or younger.

The program recognizes and rewards technological and commercial innovation and entrepreneurial excellence.

How can we find out more and keep up to date?

Twitter: @techtrailblaze

Throughout the awards program we will regularly update our feed, so please follow us at @techtrailblaze. You can also follow the Twitter buzz on the hashtag #TTAwards.

You can also sign up for our latest news by joining our mailing list.

Linked In: linkedin.com/company/tech-trailblazers-awards

Who is eligible to enter?

Enterprise tech startups that are under 6 years old (based on time of the company was founded) and privately funded or at C-series funding or below are eligible. Entries must be submitted before the deadline on October 3rd 2017.

How to win by head judge Stephen O'Donnell

Are the awards for companies or innovations?

The awards are given to companies, in recognition of products or services that deliver innovation in the AI, big data, blockchain, cloud, financial IT, high performance computing, infosecurity, internet of things, mobile, networking, storage, emerging markets and virtualization categories.

When do submissions open?

Submissions open on July 18th 2017.

When do they close?

Submissions close at 11:59pm Pacific Time on October 3rd 2017.

When will the winners be announced?

Winners announced in Winter 2017.

Will there be an awards ceremony or other event?

At present, there is no physical event..

Is there a cost?

Until entries close on October 3rd 2017, the cost is $345 per entry, subsequent entries cost $195 per entry.

Early stage pre-VC funding startups can also apply for a Firestarter bursary. Click here to see if you are eligible.

What is the Tech Trailblazers Firestarter bursary?

The Firestarter bursary is for non-VC backed startups up to two years old. This has been created to ensure that entry fees are not a barrier for the new lean startups who are still securing major funding from VCs. This new program will attract more earlier stage startups within the accelerator and incubator communities as well as those self-funding or with angel, seed and crowd-funding as their primary source of investment. Please contact the Tech Trailblazers team at innovate@techtrailblazers.com to apply for the Firestarter bursary.

How do I pay for my submission?

When you upload the entry form, you will automatically be prompted to pay online. It uses PayPal as the engine so you can use a PayPal account or most major credit cards. You do not need a PayPal account to pay by credit or debit card. Please ensure you or the person making the payment quotes the reference of your entry as indicated on the entry form, to ensure we can tie up the payment with your entry.

Is there an early bird awards submissions rate?

Yes! Entry is just $250 until August 12th, after which the standard $295 per entry is charged. Emerging markets benefit from a flat fee of just $50.

Can I enter more than one category?

As long as your innovation demonstrates a clear business benefit for customers in that category, then yes, you can enter as many categories as you like. Please make sure you upload all entries before heading to pay as this ensures you receive all multiple entry discounts. If you do not, we can refund the difference at our discretion, but it will be subject to an administration fee per extra entry submitted separately.

Having problems with your entry?

If you are having problems with the Tech Trailblazers entry form or any other area of the entry process please contact the Tech Trailblazers team at innovate@techtrailblazers.com. We will respond as soon as possible and help you with your entry.

Who will judge our entry?

Exactly who will look at your entry will not be disclosed. It will include at least 2 of the industry experts in each category you have entered.

At present the judging panel includes:

Mohit Agrawal, Founder and Editor, Telecom Circle (Twitter: @telecomcircle)

Jennifer Arcuri, Founder, Hacker House (Twitter: @jennifer_arcuri)

Joe Baguley, CTO EMEA, VMware (@joebaguley)

Steve Broadhead, Founder and Director, Broadband-Testing Labs (@steve_broadhead)

Mike Burkitt, CTO, Launchpad Europe (@launchpadeurope)

Brad Bush, CIO, Dialexa (@jbradleybush)

Chirodeep Chakraborty, London

Teresa Cottam, Founder and Chief Analyst, Telesperience (@teresacottam)

Todd Embley, Program Manager, @ToddEmbley

Chris Evans, Consultant and Blogger, TheStorageArchitect.com (@chrismevans)

Marty Foltyn, Hands-On Lab Program, SNIA (@MartyFoltyn)

Ian French, Channel Guru, Mentor and Entrepreneur (@siceo)

Bertrand Garé, L’Informaticien PARIS (@l1formaticien)

Edward P. Gibson, CEO, Embassy Attache Groups (@EdwardPGibson)

Martin Glassborow, Blogger, Storagebod (@storagebod)

James Governor, Co-Founder, RedMonk (@monkchips)

Brian Honan, CEO, BH Consulting (@brianhonan)

Elise Huang, Partner, WestSummit Capital

Sam Johnston, CTO, CSC (ANZ) (@samj)

Ben Kepes, Principal, Diversity Limited (@benkepes)

Justin Lodge, Infrastructure Architect, National Australia Bank (@justin_lodge)

Steve O’Donnell, TheHotAisle  (@stephenodonnell)

Trevor Pott, The Register (@cakeis_not_alie)

W. Curtis Preston, CEO TruthInIT, (@wcpreston)

Dimitri Podoliev, Co-founder & Managing Partner, iHUB

Mark van Rijmenam, Founder Datafloq, (@bigdatastartups)

Simon Robinson, Research Vice President, 451 Research (@simonrob451)

Kai Roer, Senior Partner, The Roer Group (@kairoer)

Raj Samani, EMEA Strategy Advisor, Cloud Security Alliance (@raj_samani)

Andrew Seldon, Editor, Hi-Tech Security Solutions, TechNews (@andrewseldon)

Sarb Sembhi, Director, Consultancy Services, Incoming Thought (@sarbsembhi)

Enrico Signoretti, Senior Consultant, Juku Consulting SRL (@esignoretti)

Jennifer Steffens, CEO, IOactive (@securesun)

Stuart Sumner, Editor, Computing (@stuartsumner)

Dr Jacqui Taylor, CEO, FlyingBinary§ (@jacquitaylorfb)

Arjan Timmerman, Co-founder, Tech Unplugged (@Arjantim)

Jon Toigo, CEO, Toigo Partners International (@jontoigo)

Is this the final judging list?

We have a healthy bank of judges now and have received a high volume of entries so we will review the judging pool over the summer and may add additional judges, if required.

How does judging take place?

Judges from our extensive pool of industry experts around the world will short-list a number of startups in each category. Once the shortlist has been finalized, we will ask the finalists to add additional information to their entries.

The awards will then be opened up to a public vote. The category judges will also vote for their favourites.

How will the public vote be conducted?

The public vote for the Tech Trailblazers awards takes place here on our website, once the shortlists are available you can vote once in each category.

Who are the industry supporters?

Industry supporters to date include Global Entrepreneurship Week, Skolkovo, TiE Silicon Valley, StarTau, SNIA, Startup America, Cloud Security, Alliance, VLAB, LOGA Group, GSMA MWC, ICEHOUSE, DaD Asia, AfriLabs, Chinaccelerator, VMware, Amoo Venture Capital Advisory, The Green Grid, Computing, Wazoku, Launchpad Europe, ExecEvent, Prezi, Lissted, Innovation Warehouse, Hippflow and Wayra.

If you are interested in becoming an industry supporter, please contact Rose Ross on the Tech Trailblazers team – rross@techtrailblazers.com

Are there any media partners?

Yes! We have a growing number of high-level media partners, including The Register, Startup50, ToWave, IPEXPO, Silicon Dragon, L’Informaticien, Tech Node, Tech In Asia, Silicon Cape, Venture Burn, bnetTV, The Data Chain, The Next Silicon Valley, Outsource, BeSuccess and Computing.

Any media outlets interested in partnering should contact our PR team, Omarketing. Vicki Porter – innovate@omarketing.com.