What are the Tech Trailblazers Awards?

The Tech Trailblazers are an exciting new awards program.

It’s global – Entries are welcomed from around the world, from Hawaii to Istanbul, from Finland to Australia. Innovation lives everywhere, and we’d like to hear about and reward the finest.

It’s focused on enterprise technology startups only. We are focusing on: big data, cloud, infosecurity, mobile, networking, storage, sustainable IT, emerging markets and virtualization. In addition all entrants are automatically submitted into the Regional Cups awards.

The program recognizes and rewards technological and commercial innovation and entrepreneurial excellence.

How can we find out more and keep up to date?

Twitter: @techtrailblaze

Throughout the awards program we will regularly update our feed, so please follow us at @techtrailblaze. You can also follow the Twitter buzz on the hashtag #TTAwards.

You can also sign up for our latest news by joining our mailing list.

Website: www.techtrailblazers.com

Linked In: linkedin.com/company/tech-trailblazers-awards

Who is eligible to enter?

Enterprise tech startups that are under 6 years old (based on time of the company was founded) and privately funded or at C-series funding or below are eligible. entries must be submitted before the deadline on 8th September 2016.

How to win by head judge Stephen ODonnell


Are the awards for companies or innovations?

The awards are given to companies, in recognition of products or services that deliver innovation in the big data, cloud, financial IT, infosecurity, internet of things, mobile, networking, storage, emerging markets and virtualization categories.

When do submissions open?

Submissions open on July 4th 2016.

When do they close?

Submissions close at 11:59pm Pacific Time on September 8th 2016.

When will the winners be announced?

Winners announced early 2017.

Will there be an awards ceremony or other event?

At present, there is no physical event..

Is there a cost?

Until entries close on September 8th 2016, the cost is $295 per entry.
For emerging markets, we charge a flat fee of just $50. Click here to see if you qualify.
Early stage pre-VC funding startups can also apply for a Firestarter bursary. Click here to see if you are eligible.
All entrants are automatically entered for their Regional Cup free of charge.

What is the Tech Trailblazers Firestarter bursary?

The Firestarter bursary is for non-VC backed startups up to two years old. This has been created to ensure that entry fees are not a barrier for the new lean startups who are still securing major funding from VCs. This new program will attract more earlier stage startups within the accelerator and incubator communities as well as those self-funding or with angel, seed and crowd-funding as their primary source of investment. Please contact the Tech Trailblazers team at innovate@techtrailblazers.com to apply for the Firestarter bursary.

How do I pay for my submission?

When you upload the entry form, you will automatically be prompted to pay online. It uses PayPal as the engine so you can use a PayPal account or most major credit cards. Please ensure you or the person making the payment quotes the reference of your entry as indicated on the entry form, to ensure we can tie up the payment with your entry.

Is there an early bird awards submissions rate?

Yes! Entry is just $250 until August 12th, after which the standard $295 per entry is charged. Emerging markets benefit from a flat fee of just $50.

Can I enter more than one category?

As long as your innovation demonstrates a clear business benefit for customers in that category, then yes, you can enter as many categories as you like. Please make sure you upload all entries before heading to pay as this ensures you receive all multiple entry discounts. If you do not, we can refund the difference at our discretion, but it will be subject to an administration fee per extra entry submitted separately.

Having problems with your entry?

If you are having problems with the Tech Trailblazers entry form or any other area of the entry process please contact the Tech Trailblazers team at innovate@techtrailblazers.com. We will help you to complete your entry.

What is the Emerging Markets Trailblazers category?

This category focuses on startups headquartered in emerging markets, not companies selling into these regions. A complete list of countries qualifying as ‘Emerging Markets’ can be found here.

Who will judge our entry?

Exactly who will look at your entry will not be disclosed. It will include at least 2 of the industry experts in each category you have entered.

What is the Entry Criteria?

 Only companies 5 years old and younger and privately funded or “C” series funding are eligible for the Tech Trailblazers Awards.

The following are eligible for entry: Businesses that are Privately Funded, Kickstarter, Crowdfunded, Seed funded, Angel Investment, VC funded or other private investment.  

Who are the judges?

At present the judging panel includes:

Mohit Agrawal, Founder and Editor, Telecom Circle (Twitter: @telecomcircle)

Jennifer Arcuri, Founder, Hacker House (Twitter: @jennifer_arcuri)

Joe Baguley, CTO EMEA, VMware (@joebaguley)

Steve Broadhead, Founder and Director, Broadband-Testing Labs (@steve_broadhead)

Mike Burkitt, CTO, Launchpad Europe (@launchpadeurope)

Brad Bush, CIO, Dialexa (@jbradleybush)

Chirodeep Chakrabortty, London

Teresa Cottam, Founder and Chief Analyst, Telesperience (@teresacottam)

Todd Embley, Program Manager, @ToddEmbley

Chris Evans, Consultant and Blogger, TheStorageArchitect.com (@chrismevans)

Marty Foltyn, Hands-On Lab Program, SNIA (@MartyFoltyn)

Ian French, Channel Guru, Mentor and Entrepreneur (@siceo)

Edward P. Gibson, CEO, Embassy Attache Groups (@EdwardPGibson)

Martin Glassborow, Blogger, Storagebod (@storagebod)

James Governor, Co-Founder, RedMonk (@monkchips)

Brian Honan, CEO, BH Consulting (@brianhonan)

Elise Huang, Partner, WestSummit Capital

Sam Johnston, CTO, CSC (ANZ) (@samj)

Ben Kepes, Principal, Diversity Limited (@benkepes)

Justin Lodge, Infrastructure Architect, National Australia Bank (@justin_lodge)

W. Curtis Preston, CEO TruthInIT, (@wcpreston)

Dimitri Podoliev, Co-founder & Managing Partner, iHUB

Simon Robinson, Research Vice President, 451 Research (@simonrob451)

Kai Roer, Senior Partner, The Roer Group (@kairoer)

Raj Samani, EMEA Strategy Advisor, Cloud Security Alliance (@raj_samani)

Andrew Seldon, Editor, Hi-Tech Security Solutions, TechNews (@andrewseldon)

Sarb Sembhi, Director, Consultancy Services, Incoming Thought (@sarbsembhi)

Enrico Signoretti, Senior Consultant, Juku Consulting SRL (@esignoretti)

Jennifer Steffens, CEO, IOactive (@securesun)

Stuart Sumner, Editor, Computing (@stuartsumner)

Dr Jacqui Taylor, CEO, FlyingBinary§ (@jacquitaylorfb)

Arjan Timmerman, Co-founder, Tech Unplugged (@Arjantim)

Jon Toigo, CEO, Toigo Partners International (@jontoigo)

Is this the final judging list?

We have a healthy bank of judges now and have received a high volume of entries so we will review the judging pool over the summer and may add additional judges, if required.

How does judging take place?

Judges from our extensive pool of industry experts around the world will short-list a number of startups in each category. Once the shortlist has been finalized, we will ask the finalists to add additional information to their entries, including a short informative video about who they are and why they should win.

The awards will then be opened up to a public vote. The category judges will also vote for their favourites.

How will the public vote be conducted?

The public vote for the Tech Trailblazers awards takes place here on our website, the shortlists for each category are available here you can vote once in each category.

Who are the industry supporters?

Industry supporters to date include Global Entrepreneurship Week, Skolkovo, TiE Silicon Valley, StarTau, SNIA, Startup America, Cloud Security, Alliance, VLAB, LOGA Group, GSMA MWC, ICEHOUSE, DaD Asia, AfriLabs, Chinaccelerator, VMware, Amoo Venture Capital Advisory, The Green Grid, Computing, Wazoku, Launchpad Europe, ExecEvent, Prezi, Lissted, Innovation Warehouse, Hippflow and Wayra.

If you are interested in becoming a an industry supporter, please contact Rose Ross on the Tech Trailblazers team – rross@techtrailblazers.com

Are there any media partners?

Yes! We have a growing number of high-level media partners, including Startup50, ToWave, IPEXPO, Silicon Dragon, L’Informaticien, Tech Node, Tech In Asia, Silicon Cape, Venture Burn, bnetTV, The Data Chain, The Next Silicon Valley, Outsource, BeSuccess and Computing.

In 2013 Gigaom gave away a Startup Zone package at their Structure: Europe 2013 event as well as free event tickets and research subscriptions. BNet TV reviewed category winners through 2014.

Any media outlets interested in partnering should contact our PR team, Omarketing. Rosalind Carr – innovate@omarketing.com.